The Stages of Reading Development explain how students progress as readers. The stages are not based on age or grade, but rather on an individual student’s level of proficiency. The titles offered by MaryRuth Books support the following developmental stages: Early Emergent Readers, Emergent Readers, Upper Emergent Readers, and Early Fluent Readers.

Below are some important terms centered around the stages of reading development:


Developmental Reading Assessment® (DRA)

The Developmental Reading Assessment® (DRA) is a series of leveled books designed to help teachers evaluate a student’s reading accuracy, fluency, and comprehension levels. The DRA is typically administered to students in grades 1-3 at the beginning and end of each grading period to determine a student’s progress.

Learn more

Early Emergent Readers

Early Emergent Readers are aspiring readers who are developing letter knowledge, learning about one-to-one matching of spoken words to printed words, and becoming aware of punctuation.

Learn more

Early Fluent Readers

Early Fluent Readers are in between learning how to read and being able to learn from reading. They rely very little on pictures for the meaning of the text. Early Fluent Readers take on new texts with more independence, and can read longer texts, for the most part, with good comprehension and phrasing.

Learn more

Emergent Readers

Emergent Readers know the letters of the alphabet and their corresponding sounds. They easily recognize a number of high-frequency words. Emergent Readers are developing comprehension strategies and word-attack skills and are less dependent on repetitive pattern and pictures.

Learn more

Fluent Readers

Fluent Readers read for meaning. They are able to extend their general knowledge by reading a wide range of longer, more complex texts, across a variety of genre.

Learn more

Guided Reading

Guided Reading is the framework in which a teacher supports each reader’s individual development of effective strategies for processing new texts at increasingly challenging levels of difficulty.

Learn more

Guided Reading Levels

Guided reading levels range alphabetically from A to Z, with level A representing the lowest level and level Z the highest. Leveling is based on the complexity of ten common book characteristics: genre, text structure, content, themes, language, sentence complexity, new vocabulary, difficulty of words, illustrations, and physical print features.

Learn more

Leveled Readers

Leveled Readers are books that have been evaluated against a series of established criteria by early literacy specialists. The books are organized into 29 developmentally appropriate levels from easy books for aspiring readers to longer, complex books that a fluent reader would choose.

Learn more

Reading Recovery®

Reading Recovery® is a short-term intervention for first graders having difficulty with early reading and writing. Specially trained teachers work individually with students in daily 30-minute lessons lasting 12 to 20 weeks.

Learn more